Truth about Blogging

Welcome to That Weird Girl Official

Truth About Blogging

Hello my lovelies!

I have had my fair share in the blogging world, with the first ever blog that I owned at the age of 13. I didn’t use that much and am frankly quite ashamed uncomfortable showing it to anyone now. But then I went aboard with That Weird Girl Official and I’ve learned loads of things through this journey.

Over the time, most of you have asked me different questions about blogging and though I’m no ace at it, I have tried to guide with my understanding of it. Here are some of the most frequent questions that I have been asked and I hope this helps anyone who has similar questions.

  1. How do I start a blog?

I get this question a lot, especially when I tell that I am a blogger. Well, you just do. There is no ritual or blood sacrifice in order to start a blog; if you really want to then go ahead and start a blog.

  1. What should I write about?

Well, this is up to you. I have seen folks who start a blog and are pumped about it for a month or even two, but they soon get bored with it. This happens majorly when you limit your content. When you put your blog in a certain category and you no longer venture into different topics. You mustn’t put your blog under a specific label because sooner or later you’ll get stuck. For example, a travel blog is not just a travel blog anymore, people also include photography, and cooking or fashion tips in it. This way you are reaching out to people with all sorts of interests and are keeping things interesting for yourself as well.

Over the time, I’ve also known a lot of people who start a blog just so they could be ‘popular’ and this is the question I get the most- ‘Apoorva, how do I get famous with my blog?’ or ‘When will my stats boom and I will get more followers?’ Frankly, a blog is more than that. I don’t know how you can be ‘popular’ but I do know that people will come to your blog if you are more consistent and update more frequently. Nobody wants to follow a blog that was last updated in 2010, and more than that, why do you even bother? I wrote a blog post called You’re Probably Blogging Wrong (Just Saying!) and you can see that for a more detailed description.

But I think the imperative thing is this- You have to write about something you are very passionate about. In my post Why Beauty Blogging, I wrote how it is important to blog about something that you are enthusiastic about, something that you feel must be written by you. If you are going with the flow and choosing a particular topic just because it is in, you are constricting yourself. For example, if you start a beauty blog when you are probably more into Yoga, there is no point in forcing yourself to write against your forte.

If you are looking for some blog inspiration then you can check my 50 Blog Post ideas for Lifestyle Blogger.

  1. Which is a better platform, WordPress or Blogger?

This really depends. Quite frankly, the WordPress vs Blogger topic needs a whole post on its own, but I’ll encapsulate it for you: the main difference is that Blogger offers a free service, WordPress is self hosted (I’m talking about xyz.com version, not xyz.wordpress.com version) and some people think that it makes WordPress much better, and those were people who lured me into making a WordPress blog (however I am using a free version at the moment). You can read an article by WonderForest called Blogger vs WordPress for a deeper insight and better understanding.

  1. Should I update twice a day?

If you wish, you can. But there is no point in going overboard. If you have a science blog, people would be too overwhelmed to read the Big Bang Theory, Evolution Theory, Einstein-Rosen Bridge Theory and The String Theory in a single day. Plan your posts beforehand, and updating as less as twice a week would be just fine. You can write more as you go but do not strain yourself.

  1. Is the content safe online?

Just as safe as it to put it on Facebook, Twitter or any other social media platform. You can watermark your images and content with a copyright sign, but that’s about all you can do. Most of the time people don’t even know their content is being stolen and plagiarizing is a common thing. I, myself, had been daunted when I first began and it took me a hell lot of courage to post my first ever OOTD. However, if you really want to do it, I’d say you go ahead and do it. You’d have to take a leap of faith but if you are still doubtful, you can make your blog private and so only your followers can see what you post. Nonetheless, in doing so you are limiting your audience.

  1. Does picture quality matter?

It does, more than you can imagine. Gone are the days when people used to post pictures from their phone and still being applauded for it. A good quality picture says a lot about your style and enhances your blog. I did Photography Tutorial with a DSLR and a Digicam that you can read for a better understanding.

  1. Can I earn with a blog?

Yes, you can. Blogging is like a young enterprise that suddenly emerged and good content and a strong online can earn you more than a 9-to-5 job. Your blog is your brand. I know people who work as full-time bloggers, but that’s a very late stage and not what you should be thinking in your early days. Right now your focus should be on getting on with a good theme and even better content.

  1. Can you review my blog?

As much as I love to, I do not have time at hand. I can always come by your blog and visit it and leave you a comment about how I liked it, but I’m sorry I wouldn’t be able to review it as such.

_______________________________________________________________

These were the most frequent questions that I am asked and I hope that this post helped. If there is something else that you’d like to add or ask, you can always leave me a comment below and I will try to answer it.

that weird girl officialTwitterInstagramBloglovin’Facebook

11 thoughts on “Truth about Blogging

  1. This is a great post! I think it’s interesting in your “what should I write about” section you say you should venture out into different topics. Usually people are all about “finding your niche” and growing a huge, specific following. Personally, I like the broad content approach to blogging. I want to talk about what I like, not limit myself just to gain followers. Thanks for the info!

    Like

  2. Thank you for this awesome blog post. I LOVED it ! I agree 100% with what you said and appreciate your wise words. 😀 Definitely a blogger to help me keep motivated. Thank you again xx

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed this post. What really resonated with me was the part about limiting your self to one thing. I’ve made that mistake with past blogs. Getting bored and lacking fresh content or forcing post that I wasn’t happy with definitely became a hindrance.

    Enjoyed your post!

    Like

Share your piece of mind :)

